吸烟会导致许多严重的疾病,并且还会增加早逝的风险。 大多数国家/地区的烟草控制策略侧重于旨在防止开始吸烟、减少消费和鼓励戒烟的供需措施。这些措施导致过去三十年来吸烟率有所下降,但不太可能完全杜绝吸烟。实际上,根据人口变化趋势,预计到 2025 年吸烟者人数将达到 10 至 11 亿左右,几乎和现今的吸烟者人数持平 (1)

 

燃烧形成了可在卷烟烟雾中检测到的大部分和高浓度有害化学物质。
 

阅读我们的总裁愿景

“我们致力于开创无烟气未来。我们的愿景是:尽快用经过科学证实的减害产品替代卷烟。”——科学和创新部总裁,Mirek Zielinski

 

为想以其他方式持续吸烟的吸烟者量身定制的替代品

 

完全避免吸烟相关疾病风险的唯一方法就是压根不要开始吸烟。对当前的吸烟者来说,最佳选项就是戒烟。 然而,针对想以其他方式持续吸烟的吸烟者,我们的目标是提供与持续吸烟相比有望降低罹患吸烟相关疾病的风险的无烟气替代品。 我们设计了对当前成年吸烟者具有一定吸引力的此类产品,以便他们能够完全改用此类产品。


向成年吸烟者提供无烟气替代品是对现有烟草控制策略的一项明智的补充。 考虑到将持续吸烟的吸烟者的人数,在技术允许并且可以提供此类产品的情况下,向他们提供风险更低的替代品实乃明智之举。有效的政策和法规应允许吸烟者购买经过科学证实的减害产品。这些政策和法规还应促使吸烟者根据有关这些产品的准确信息作出明智的决定。与此同时,我们认为,只要各利益相关者携手合作,仍可以确保年轻人等脆弱人群受到相关保护。

 


这就是为什么我们为成年吸烟者研发了一系列无烟气产品。与继续吸烟相比,彻底转用这些产品提供了降低危害的可能。

为什么无烟气产品中含有尼古丁?

了解如何帮助吸烟者降低风险

Tobacco regulation

烟草监管法规和无烟气产品

严谨科学是我们开发和评估无烟气产品的核心

开发和评估无烟气产品背后的科学依据受制药工业中开发新型药物时运用的实践启发。我们坚持高科学标准,我们的项目遵循美国食品药品监督管理局 (FDA) 发布的《风险降低烟草制品指导草案》(2012)。

探索我们的科学

Why is combustion harmful?

Read why

Smoking tobacco causes a number of serious diseases and increases the risk of early death. Tobacco control strategies in most countries focus on supply and demand measures intended to prevent initiation, reduce consumption and encourage cessation. These measures have resulted in a decline in smoking prevalence over the last three decades but are unlikely to eliminate smoking altogether. In fact, based on population trends, it is estimated that there will be roughly 1 billion to 1.1 billion smokers by 2025, about the same number as today.

 

Science and technology can and must play a role in devising solutions to this problem. The principal source of the problem is known: decades of scientific research show that the primary cause of smoking-related disease is the Harmful and Potentially Harmful Constituents (HPHCs) formed by the combustion of tobacco. It is combustion that causes the production of the majority of harmful chemicals detected in cigarette smoke. This is why we are developing a portfolio of reduced-risk products* (RRPs) for adult smokers. We refer to these reduced-risk products as our smoke-free products. Switching completely to these products has the potential to be much less harmful than continuing to smoke.

 


It is combustion that causes the production of the majority of harmful chemicals detected in cigarette smoke.
 

Read our President's vision

“We are committed to a smoke-free future and our vision is that scientifically substantiated Reduced-Risk Products replace cigarettes as quickly as possible.”– President Science and Innovation, Mirek Zielinski

Read the message in full

 

An alternative for smokers who choose to continue smoking

 

The only way to completely avoid the risk of smoking-related diseases is to not start smoking at all. For current smokers, the best option is to quit. However, for smokers who would otherwise continue smoking, our goal is to offer smoke-free alternatives that have the potential to reduce the risk of developing smoking-related diseases as compared to continued smoking. We design these products to be appealing to current adult smokers so that they can fully switch.


Offering smoke-free alternatives to adult smokers is a sensible, complementary addition to existing tobacco control strategies. Given the number of smokers who will continue to smoke cigarettes, it makes sense to offer them less risky alternatives if technology makes it possible, and if such products can be made available. Effective policies and regulation should allow smokers to access scientifically substantiated Reduced-Risk Products. They should also enable smokers to make informed choices based on accurate information about these products. At the same time, it is our view that protection of vulnerable populations, like youth, can still be assured when all stakeholders work together.

 


This is why we are developing a portfolio of smoke-free products for adult smokers. Switching completely to these products has the potential to be much less harmful than continued smoking.

Why Nicotine

Why do smoke-free products contain nicotine?

Understanding how to achieve risk reduction for smokers

Tobacco regulation

Tobacco regulation and smoke-free products

Rigorous science is at the core of our development and assessment of smoke-free products

The science behind the development and assessment of smoke-free products is inspired by practices used in the pharmaceutical industry for the development of new drugs. We adhere to high scientific standards and our programs are aligned with the draft guidance issued by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) in their Draft Guidance on Modified Risk Tobacco Products (2012).

Explore our science

Why is combustion harmful?

Read why