我們進行長期研究並監測與消費者使用情形相關的事件,藉此追蹤改用我們產品的吸煙者受到何種長期影響。

至今為止我們針對無煙產品上市前收集的證據顯示,前景非常樂觀,對全面改用這些產品的吸煙者而言,其造成的風險可能低於持續吸煙。 為證明我們的產品是否能確實對現實世界的公共衛生帶來正面影響,產品上市後進行後續追蹤相當重要。 我們會收集資訊來驗證與吸煙相關的疾病有否減少,以及有否出現產品上市時未預期的後果。

我們結合安全監視、臨床研究和流行病學研究等多種方法,逐步釐清我們產品降低風險的可能性。


Latest_versionLTA2 (2)-01

 

「安全監視」指的是收集消費者健康相關的資訊

我們制定了一套上市後安全監視計劃,讓消費者反饋使用我們無煙產品後任何健康相關的負面事件。

我們會持續監測這些資訊以辨別潛在的安全疑慮,並在必要時通知監管單位。

 

 

我們的第一階段研究

 

我們的現況和世代研究有助於評估煙草和尼古丁使用的普及率與模式,並提供無煙產品對健康影響的訊號。

在第一階段 日本上市後世代研究發現

我們估算了使用此無煙產品對人口健康的影響。

吸煙者的習慣因人而異,而吸煙相關疾病相當複雜且發展過程需數十年時間。 那麼在經過數十年時間之前,怎麼可能估算使用降低風險產品 (RRP)* 對整體人口健康的影響?

為了估算降低風險產品 (RRPs)* 在人口層面對健康產生的影響,我們根據美國食品藥物管理局 (FDA) 的要求,利用公開取用的實際資料建立了一套憑數學方式模擬的流行病學模型。

 

See our source from the International Smoking Statistics

 

我們的「人口健康影響」模型是依據吸煙率、個人吸煙史和人口規模,並使用收集自不同國家的資料(例如美國、德國、英國和日本)。 我們將這些資料結合世界衛生組織認定的吸煙相關疾病死亡率資料。

得出的「人口健康影響」模型可協助我們估算各種複雜情況,包括與持續吸煙相較下我們無煙產品的不同降低風險可能性假設。 這個模型也整合了非吸煙者的資料,因此可估算出整體人口健康影響。

這項估算結果相當寶貴,因為現在便能得到,不需要等到實際長期研究結果出爐。 至今為止,模擬結果顯示我們的無煙產品可減輕主要吸煙相關疾病對人口造成的傷害。

 

 

參閱與該模型相關的同儕審查出版品:.

Check some of the model's estimates.

We run long-term studies and monitor events linked to consumer use in order to track the long-term effects of smokers switching to our products.

The pre-market evidence collected so far on our smoke-free products is very promising, such is their potential to present less risk than continued smoking for smokers who switch completely. To see if our products fulfill their potential to have a positive impact on public health in the real world, it is important for us to follow the products even after they have been launched on the market. We collect information to verify whether smoking-related diseases are reduced and whether there are consequences unintended at the time of market launch.

We combine a number of approaches, including safety surveillance, clinical studies, and epidemiological studies, in order to progressively obtain a clearer picture of the risk-reduction potential of our products.


Latest_versionLTA2 (2)-01

 

 

Safety surveillance to collect health-related information from consumers

 

We have set up a post-market safety surveillance program for consumers to report any health-related adverse events associated with the use of our smoke-free products.

We constantly monitor this information to identify potential safety concerns and to report them to the regulatory authorities if necessary.

 

Our first wave of studies

Our cross-sectional and cohort studies help us assess the prevalence and patterns of tobacco and nicotine use and provide signals on the health effects of our smoke-free products.

The learnings from the first wave of the Japanese Post-Market Cohort Study

 

 

We have estimated the impact of smoke-free products' use on the health of the population

 

People’s smoking habits vary considerably and smoking-related diseases are complex and take decades to develop. How is it then possible to estimate the impact of RRP usage on overall population health before decades have elapsed?

In order to estimate the population-level health impact of RRPs, we have built an epidemiological model relying on mathematical simulations using publicly available real-life data, in line with the US FDA’s requirements.

See our source from the International Smoking Statistics

We based our model — the Population Health Impact Model — on smoking prevalence, individual smoking histories, and the size of populations, using data gathered from different countries, such as the U.S., Germany, the U.K. and Japan. We combined this data with the mortality rates of smoking-related diseases determined by the World Health Organization.

The resulting Population Health Impact Model (PHIM) assists us in estimating a range of complex scenarios, including different assumptions about the risk reduction potential of our smoke-free products compared to continued smoking. The model also incorporates data on non-smokers, thereby providing an estimate of the population health impact as a whole.

The estimates are valuable because they are available today, before the actual long-term study results are obtained. So far, the modeling results suggest that our smoke-free products can reduce population harm caused by major smoking-related diseases.

 

Check our peer-reviewed publication on the model.

Check some of the model's estimates.

 

 

From the library