我們的平台開發過程一向奉行「品質源於設計」的原則,表示了這些平台是專為消除或減少氣霧中的有害及可能有害的成份 (HPHCs) 含量(與香煙煙霧中的含量相比)而設計。

氣霧科學

 

 

體積極小的粒子(例如水份或固體微粒)被氣體包圍時不會沉降,而是會形成稱為氣霧的懸浮混合物。

氣霧科學在無煙產品開發過程中扮演著舉足輕重的角色。由於氣霧的化學物質會被人體吸收並引發生物反應,因此吸入氣霧時所產生的化學特性不容忽視。

香煙煙霧是氣霧的一種,除了水份之外,還包含至今已確認的超過 6000 種不同化學物質。 以碳為主的固體粒子也於煙草燃燒所產生的香煙煙霧中存在。

加熱煙草產品和電子霧化器產品同樣會產生氣霧,但其成份和香煙的煙霧有很大的差異。 由於這些產品的設計令其可在不燃燒的情況下使用,因此其氣霧中不存在以碳為主的固體粒子,只有水份。

 


香煙煙霧是氣霧的一種,除了水份之外,還包含至今已確認的超過 6000 種不同化學物質。以碳為主的固體粒子也於煙草燃燒所產生的香煙煙霧中存在。

人們通常稱吸電子煙為「吸蒸氣」(vaping),而氣霧本身常被稱為「蒸氣」(vapor)。


氣霧化學

無煙氣霧和香煙煙霧中有哪些化合物?

 

PMI 十餘年來致力於研究各種氣霧的化學成份。

根據衛生主管單位(例如 WHO[1]、FDA[2] 和 HC[3])的指導方針與規範,我們整合出一份清單,羅列分析與香煙煙霧和無煙氣霧相關的 58 種化學物質。

這份清單中包含可能對人類健康構成威脅的成份,這正是我們的產品是為盡可能減少這些成份而專門設計的原因。 我們透過縝密的監測,能判斷產品是否可以有效達到消除或顯著減少這些成份的目標。

除了鎖定已知成份為目標,我們也進行分析以識別在我們的產品改進過程中可能出現的成份。 由於這些成份含有豐富多樣的化學物質,因此我們的科學家在分析時必須排除萬難,才能辨別和量化這些成份。

 

 

Platform 1 on average

Did you know?

Platform 1 on average emits 90-95% lower levels of HPHCs compared to a reference 3R4F research cigarette

Exploring the unknown

How do we screen for new compounds when we explore the unknown?

PMI 58 list of harmful

The PMI-58 list of harmful and potentially harmful constituents

What chemicals belong to the list of 58 components and why these ones?

[1] WHO Study Group on Tobacco Product Regulation Report on the Scientific Basis of Tobacco Product Regulation

[2] Harmful and Potentially Harmful Constituents in Tobacco Products and Tobacco Smoke; Established List

[3] Tobacco Reporting Regulations (SOR/2000-273)

氣霧物理

氣霧粒子大小

任何無煙產品氣霧中的水份大小,在吸入過程中扮演關鍵角色。 無煙氣霧中的水份大小不一:其大小大約都在微米範圍內,且多數粒子必須小於 2.5 微米才會被人體吸入。


 

 

 

測量無煙產品氣水份大小的過程中,新技術應運而生,因為傳統方法並非針對無煙氣霧如此細微且迅速變化的粒子系統所設計。適當的粒子大小可確保有效傳遞尼古丁。追蹤水份大小不僅對於評估氣霧吸入的生物反應而言極為重要。事實上也能讓我們瞭解產品在不同條件下的運作是否一致。

 

 

Aerosol Droplet Size Distribution Measurement Instruments

PD_Distribution-Measurement
水份子須要小於2.5微米才為適宜吸入。

氣霧中的水份子其大小各有不同。

 

室內空氣品質

 

無煙產品也是專為減少釋放到空間中的化學物質數量而設計的(與香煙煙霧釋放的數量相比)。

 


 


 

Assessing Indoor Air Quality for RRPs

產品在實驗室與現實生活中的表現

穩定性與健全性

 

 

 

我們的產品離開實驗室後表現如何?我們的產品可在巨幅變化的濕度和溫度條件下保存一段特定時間,我們已審慎考量過各種參數。

我們也將不同吸煙行為納入考量,除非我們確實使用各種吸煙習慣進行測試,否則這些行為可能與我們在實驗室中模擬的條件有很大的差異。

因此,為了確保我們的測量結果在現實生活條件下同樣適用,我們在各種可能情況的條件下測試產品。我們運用這些結果持續改善平台的設計。此舉可確保產品在現實生活中使用時,氣霧的成份會維持在已界定且可掌握的參數範圍內。

Execution stage IIS

Product Stability & Robustness

 

開發出健全的產品只是邁向無煙未來的第一步。 毒性測試、臨床研究和消費者接受度都能提供珍貴的資訊,我們會將這些資訊持續應用到設計中,致力實現我們對人類健康帶來正面影響的終極目標。

Our platform development process follows the principle of “Quality by Design.” This means that the platforms are specifically designed to eliminate or reduce the levels of HPHCs found in the aerosol compared to those found in cigarette smoke.

Aerosol Science

 

 

Particles of very small sizes, such as droplets or fine solid particles, do not settle when surrounded by gas; they instead form a suspended mixture called an aerosol.

Aerosol Science plays a fundamental role in the development of smoke-free products. Chemical characterization of the inhaled aerosol is imperative since the aerosol chemicals are absorbed in the body and have biological effects.

Cigarette smoke is a type of aerosol; in addition to water droplets, it contains over 6000 different chemicals identified to date. Solid carbon-based particles are also present in cigarette smoke, produced as a result of tobacco combustion.

Heated tobacco products and e-vapor products also produce aerosols, but they are very different from cigarette smoke in their composition. Since these products are designed to operate without combustion, carbon-based solid particles are not present in their aerosols, only liquid droplets.

 


Cigarette smoke is a type of aerosol; in addition to water droplets, it contains over 6000 different chemicals identified to date. Solid carbon-based particles are also present in cigarette smoke, produced as a result of tobacco combustion.

People often use the word “vaping” when referring to the use of e-cigarettes, and the aerosol itself is often called “vapor”.


Aerosol Chemistry

What compounds are found in smoke-free aerosols and cigarette smoke?

 

At PMI, we have been studying the chemical composition of a variety of aerosols for over a decade.

Based on the guidelines and regulations of health authorities, such as the WHO1, FDA2 and HC3, we have consolidated a list of 58 chemicals that are relevant to the analysis of cigarette smoke and smoke-free aerosols.

The list contains constituents that may pose health risks to humans – which is why our products are specifically designed to reduce them at the lowest possible levels. Through careful monitoring, we are able to determine whether we can effectively reach our aim of eliminating or substantially reducing these constituents.

Besides targeting known constituents, we also perform analyses to identify constituents that may emerge via the evolution of our products. Our scientists have had to overcome analytical challenges to identify and quantify these constituents, due to their chemical diversity.

 

Platform 1 on average

Did you know?

Platform 1 on average emits 90-95% lower levels of HPHCs compared to a reference 3R4F research cigarette

Exploring the unknown

How do we screen for new compounds when we explore the unknown?

PMI 58 list of harmful

The PMI-58 list of harmful and potentially harmful constituents

What chemicals belong to the list of 58 components and why these ones?

[1] WHO Study Group on Tobacco Product Regulation Report on the Scientific Basis of Tobacco Product Regulation

[2] Harmful and Potentially Harmful Constituents in Tobacco Products and Tobacco Smoke; Established List

[3] Tobacco Reporting Regulations (SOR/2000-273)

Aerosol Physics

Aerosol Particle Size

The size of droplets in any smoke-free product aerosol plays a key role in inhalation. Droplets in smoke-free aerosols do not all have the same size: they fall in the range of micrometers and most particles need to be smaller than 2.5 micrometers to be respirable.


 

 

 

Measuring the size of smoke-free product aerosol droplets has led to the development of new techniques, as classical methods were not designed for such fine and rapidly changing systems as smoke-free aerosols.

The right size of the particles ensures that nicotine delivery is efficient.Tracking droplet size is not only important for assessing the biological effects of aerosol inhalation. Indeed, it also allows us to understand if our products behave consistently under different conditions.

 

 

Aerosol Droplet Size Distribution Measurement Instruments

PD_Distribution-Measurement
Droplets need to be smaller than 2.5 micrometers to be respirable.

Aerosol droplets do not all have the same size.

 

Indoor Air Quality

 

Smoke-free products are also designed to reduce the number of chemicals released into a given space, as compared with the quantities released by cigarette smoke.

 


 


 

Laboratory

Assessing Indoor Air Quality for RRPs

Products in the lab and products in real life

Stability and Robustness

 

 

 

What happens when our products leave the lab? They can stay in storage for a certain period of time and be exposed to large variations in humidity and temperature conditions, and careful thought is given to these parameters.

We also take into account that different people have different puffing behaviors, and that these behaviors may be very different from the conditions that we simulate in the laboratory unless we make sure to use a variety of puffing regimes.

Therefore, to ensure that our measurements hold true in real-life conditions, we test our products in a range of conditions that resemble probable scenarios. We use these results to continuously improve the design of the platforms. This ensures that when the products are used in real life, the composition of the aerosol will remain within defined and understood parameters.

Execution stage IIS

Product Stability & Robustness

 

Developing robust products is only the first step towards a smoke-free future. Toxicity tests, clinical studies and consumer acceptance all provide valuable information that is continuously fed back into our design to achieve our ultimate goal of being able to positively impact population health.

 

 

Publications, posters and presentations

From the library