當研發出一項產品後,若證據顯示其所產生的氣霧中有害及可能有害物質 (HPHCs) 含量低於香煙煙霧,產品就會經過毒理學評估。

 

 

我們可藉由毒理學評估瞭解與香煙煙霧相比下,降低風險產品 (RRPs) 產生的氣霧可能會對生物帶來什麼程度的損害,以及這些損害是否有機會啟動可能引發吸煙相關疾病的生物機制。

務必留意,單憑毒理學資料並不足以證明改用無煙產品的風險較持續吸煙低;需要進行特別設計的臨床研究才能解答這類問題。話雖如此,毒理學評估仍可提供相當明確的降低風險指標,並為進一步的臨床研究建立基礎。毒理學研究的結果也可以補充臨床研究得出的數據。


毒性評估有助於預測特定無煙產品造成損害的風險是否有可能較持續吸煙低。

 

 

管制毒理學著重於評估產品的毒性對實驗室中培養的細胞和實驗室動物有何影響。管制毒理學的主要目的是,就我們的產品是否符合監管單位制定的可接受標準,向其提供相關數據。這些標準包含製造要求,且是臨床測試的先決條件。在無煙產品的案例中,目標是證實無煙產品產生的氣霧毒性低於香煙煙霧的毒性。

管制毒理學評估進行過程遵循優良實驗室操作規範(Good Laboratory Practice,GLP)。GLP 可確保測試方法的統一性、一致性、可靠性、再現性、品質和完整性,進而確保結果。

 

 

了解我們的毒理學研究方法

系統毒理學

 

PMI 是採用系統生物學並運用在毒理學的先驅。我們不僅充分運用現今最先進的生物和運算技術,同時也領先開發可能成為未來新標準的創新方法。不僅如此,我們還擬定了全面的驗證計畫,可分享我們所開發的算法及所取得的數據。我們採用專家群眾外包方式,開放完整的數據集並提供詳閱與詮釋,並積極地比較我們的發現。


系統毒理學

了解更多相關研究結果

 

不斷進步的毒理學方法

了解我們的毒理學研究方法

After a product has been developed and has been shown to generate lower levels of HPHCs in the aerosol compared to levels found in cigarette smoke, it undergoes Toxicological Assessment.

 

 

Toxicological Assessment tells us about how much damage to the biology of an organism the aerosol from an RRP may cause compared to cigarette smoke, and if that damage is likely to activate biological mechanisms that may result in the onset of tobacco-related diseases.

It is important to note that toxicological data on its own is not sufficient to prove that switching to smoke-free products is of reduced risk compared to continued cigarettes smoking; specially designed clinical studies are required to answer such questions. That being said, toxicological assessment provides a very good indication of the risk reduction and the confidence to move forward with clinical studies. Results from toxicological studies can also complement the data from clinical studies.


Toxicity assessment helps to predict whether a given smoke-free product is likely to present less risk of harm compared to continued smoking.

 

 

Regulatory Toxicology focuses on assessing the toxicity of our products on cells grown in the laboratory and in laboratory animals. The main purpose of Regulatory Toxicology is to provide data for regulatory agencies on whether our products meet their defined acceptability criteria. These criteria include requirements for manufacturing and are prerequisites to clinical tests. In the case of smoke-free tobacco products, the aim is to demonstrate that the toxicity of the aerosol from smoke-free products is lower than that of cigarette smoke.

Regulatory Toxicology assessment is performed under Good Laboratory Practice (GLP). GLP ensures uniformity, consistency, reliability, reproducibility, quality and integrity in the methodology of the tests and therefore the results.

 

 

Learn more about Regulatory Toxicology

Our regulatory toxicology methods and papers

 

PMI is at the forefront of using systems biology and applying it to toxicology. Not only do we make full use of the most advanced biological and computational techniques available today, we are also leading the development of new methods that may become the new standards of tomorrow. Furthermore, we have a very comprehensive verification program in which we share the algorithms we develop and the data generated. Using expert crowdsourcing, we make our full data sets available for scrutiny and interpretation, and actively compare the findings to our own.


Read about Systems Toxicology in depth

At the forefront of using systems biology and applying it to toxicology

 

Advancing methods in toxicology

Learn about methods in toxicology