我們的臨床研究提供了人體數據,可反映出無煙產品的使用情形和接受度,以及其減少接觸有害化學物質的潛力,還有相較於持續吸煙可降低吸煙相關疾病風險的潛力。

 

 

為了評估成年吸煙者能否接受產品,我們進行了藥物動力學/藥效學臨床研究

若要讓成年吸煙者接受我們的無煙產品可作為香煙的替代品,讓他們體驗到類似吸煙帶來的滿足感相當重要。在這種情況下,口味、感官體驗、例行動作和尼古丁輸送量均很重要。我們透過藥物動力學研究測量人體會吸收多少單一無煙產品中的尼古丁,以及這些尼古丁會留存在人體多久時間。我們也會衡量測試者的吸煙慾望,以及測試者整體上對產品體驗的第一印象。

 

臨床研究有助於我們瞭解測試者所接觸的有害及可能有害成份 (HPHCs) 程度

 

我們的無煙產品經過精心設計,其所產生的有害及可能有害物質 (HPHCs) 含量顯著降低,而且菲利普莫里斯國際的減少物質暴露研究證實,在臨床環境下相較於持續吸煙者,改用我們無煙產品的吸煙者實際接觸到的有害及可能有害成份 (HPHCs) 較少。改用我們無煙產品的測試者所接觸到的有害及可能有害成份 (HPHCs),可藉由測定這些化合物產生的分解產物含量加以評估,而這些分解產物含量一般稱為暴露生物標記。

 

 

臨床研究可提供有關引發吸煙相關疾病風險的資訊

我們在減少暴露研究中測得的暴露減少程度是否會轉化為對健康的正面影響? 我們的目標是透過暴露反應研究來解答這個問題。

目前我們正為 1 號平台進行一項為期 12 個月的研究,前 6 個月的結果將在 2018 第二季公布。

測量端點的其中一個範例為血液膽固醇含量。 早已有醫學文獻記述,吸煙會使高密度脂蛋白 (HDL) 膽固醇降低和低密度脂蛋白 (LDL) 膽固醇升高。 戒煙有助於反轉高密度脂蛋白 (HDL) 和低密度脂蛋白 (LDL) 間的失衡狀態。在我們的研究中,調查了改用無煙產品能否回復這個平衡狀態,以及對研究參與者所面臨風險有正面影響跡象的其他參數。

我們所有的臨床研究皆與臨床研究組織(Clinical Research Organization,CRO)合作進行,且過程皆遵循藥品優良臨床試驗規範(Good Clinical Practice,GCP)。 我們向 www.clinicaltrials.gov 註冊所有研究,並定期將研究的最新資料發表至同儕審查的科學出版品。


Our network

Find out where we conduct our clinical studies

Lab

How does PMI run clinical studies?

Clinical_Studies _Format_thumb

Our clinical trials at a glance

Our clinical studies provide human data on the use and acceptance of our smoke-free products as well as their potential to reduce exposure to harmful chemicals and the potential to reduce the risk of smoking-related diseases as compared to continued smoking.

 

 

In order to assess if a product is likely to be acceptable to adult smokers, we conduct Pharmacokinetics/Pharmacodynamics clinical studies

For adult smokers to accept our smoke-free products as viable alternatives to smoking, it is important that they experience a satisfaction similar to that delivered by cigarettes. Taste, sensory experience, ritual and nicotine delivery are important in this context. Our pharmacokinetic studies measure how much nicotine from single smoke-free product is absorbed in the body, and how long it remains present. We also measure the subject’s urge to smoke as well as the subject’s first impression on how they experience the product overall.

 

Clinical studies can help us understand the levels of HPHCs a subject has been exposed to

 

Our smoke-free products are designed to generate significantly lower levels of HPHCs and PMI’s Reduced Exposure Studies verify that smokers who switch to our smoke-free products, are actually exposed to less HPHCs compared to those who continue to smoke cigarettes in a clinical setting. The subject’s exposure to HPHCs after switching to one of our smoke-free products can be assessed by determining the levels of breakdown products resulting from these compounds, which are known as biomarkers of exposure.

 

 

Clinical studies can provide information about the risk of developing smoking-related diseases

Does the reduction in exposure measured in our Reduced Exposure Studies translate into favorable health effects? We aim to answer this question through Exposure Response Studies.

We have completed a 12-month study with Platform 1 and we released the results for the first six months. The data from the second six months of the study are currently being analyzed.

An example of such a measurement endpoint is the level of blood cholesterol. It has previously been described in medical literature that smoking causes a decrease in HDL cholesterol and an increase in LDL cholesterol. Quitting smoking can help to reverse the imbalance between HDL and LDL. In our studies, we investigated if switching to smoke-free products restores this balance, among other parameters indicative of a favorable change in risk of study participants.

All of our clinical studies are conducted in partnership with Contract Research Organizations (CROs), and are conducted under Good Clinical Practice (GCP). We register all our studies on www.clinicaltrials.gov and regularly publish the latest data from our studies in peer-reviewed scientific publications.


Our network

Find out where we conduct our clinical studies

Lab

How does PMI run clinical studies?

Clinical_Studies _Format_thumb

Our clinical studies at a glance